1495744897255_233975_cops_10

Jillian Bell’s character mentions in the second of Rough Night that basically answered my question I wasn’t enjoying this movie:

“Someone tell me what to do & I will do it”.

     Yeah, pretty much sums up this mess of a movie. They threw everything at it & just nothing. Who’d knew that a film with this much female comedic talent with Bell, Kate McKinnon & IIana Glazer, could be such a missed opportunity. They had elements of Weekend at Bernie’s & found a way to foul it up, which is astounding, really. That alone is only one atrocious accomplishment. I don’t know whether to be impressed by this film’s futility or ashamed, to be honest. Oh & Scarlett Johannssen’s in it & is bad on her own, even with a terrible script.

Appearances by Eric Andre, Hasan Minhaj, Ty Burrell, Demi Moore & Dean Winters couldn’t save this film. Yet, I didn’t feel bad for them like I did Zoe Kravitz being the token black woman in this movie, who goes through a scene that’s pretty jarring. She was used as bait to aid the other female leads to do something & she had sex with Burrell & Moore’s characters, only to be told that they didn’t even use the camera surveillance device. Pretty violating, right? No wonder Sony Pictures is hemorrhaging so much cash with film’s like this (and those damning emails, too).

Were there things I liked about it? It’s short, which I definitely appreciate because I saw this after I finished my night job & I was somewhat tired, yet, unfortunately, the jokes & innuendo were a lot more tired than I was. Rough Night had an opportunity to be this year’s Bad Moms (though, I think Girls Trip can pull it off) which was really good & made $113 million (on a $20 million dollar budget, like this film). But with tone problems, a dull script, outdated (and corny) jokes & no chemistry with the cast, it’s hard to find anything good here. I tried to laugh, really, I did; but, all I heard throughout the film, was writing that would make a bad Brett Ratner film proud.

1 out of 5

Good: Zoe Kravitz tried & it’s short

Bad: Where the hell do I even start…….

Leave a comment